Ashtanga Yoga Columbus OH



About Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga is a vigorous practice which invites students to move through sun salutations and a set sequence of poses linked by the ujjayi breath, a specific breathing technique that heats the body. The combination of breath, posture and movement helps to stretch and strengthen the body, release impurities, and focus and calm the mind.

The practice of Ashtanga yoga was introduced to the modern world by Sri. K. Pattabhi Jois allowing students to experience this ancient and powerful discipline for cultivating physical, mental and spiritual health.

New students are introduced the practice during a 6-week Foundations Series; then they can move to either the Half Primary Series or the full Primary Series. The curriculum also includes Mysore (assisted self-practice) as taught traditionally in India. We encourage all students at all levels to attend our Mysore classes.

Although Ashtanga has a reputation for being a demanding discipline, every pose can be modified so that this style can be practiced by anyone willing to work at it.

6 week Advanced Ashtanga ►

In this Advanced Ashtanga Series students will work through the more challenging poses and transitions of the Primary Series. In addition you will be introduced to the first half of the Second Series.

6 Week Ashtanga Foundations ►

Learn the essentials of the Ashtanga yoga practice in a safe and supportive environment.

Ashtanga Beginner Drop-in ►

Our Ashtanga Intro Drop-in class gives students a taste of Ashtanga prior to taking the 6-week Foundations course.

Ashtanga Mysore Beginner Drop-in ►

Mysore style is the traditional method of learning Ashtanga yoga as taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India. The practice is a vigorous moving meditation that helps to develop a strong body and calm mind.

Ashtanga Half Primary ►

We’ve designed this class to be the next step on your path to enlightenment! OK, we can’t make any promises, but this picks up where our New Beginner’s class finishes, introducing students to the full Primary Series a few poses at a time.

Ashtanga Primary Series ►

The Primary Series is called Yoga Chikitsa or yoga therapy for the body, mind, and spirit. It is designed to realign the spine and build strength, flexibility, and stamina.

Ashtanga Second Series ►

The Second Series is called Nadi Shodina, nerve cleansing. It works on the subtle body, the rivers of energy that are said to consist of 84,000 nadis (energetic channels) coursing through the body.

Ashtanga Mysore ►

Mysore style, the traditional method of learning Ashtanga yoga as taught by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in Mysore, India, is assisted self-practice.

Morning Mysore ►

Mysore, taught in the morning hours, is the traditional way of learning Ashtanga yoga, named after the city in India where Sri K. Pattabhi Jois lived. Mysore is open to all levels, from absolute beginners to more experienced students.

Moon Days ►

Many of our morning Ashtanga classes, including Morning Mysore and Mysore Beginner Drop-in, do not meet on the following days in observance of the full and new moon and the Ashtanga Yoga tradition. 

Yoga on High Teacher Training and Ayurveda Institute

Yoga on High Foundation

Yoga on High School of Ayurveda